Greig Matthews



Greig Matthews joined the Joffrey in 2017.


Mr. Matthews was born in Aberdeen, Great Britain, where he was educated at Lamour School of Dance, the Dance School of Scotland (Glasgow), and at Royal Ballet Upper School in London. From 2009 to 2011, he performed several times with The Royal Ballet. In 2011, he joined the Wiener Staatsballett where he was appointed Demi-soloist in 2012.


His repertory includes Yuri Possohkov’s Anna Karenina (Vronsky), Cathy Marston’s Jane Eyre (Rochester), George Balanchine’s The Four Temperaments (Phlegmatic) and (Third Theme), Balanchine’s Symphony in C (4th Movement Solo), Rudolf Nureyev’s Raymonda (Beranger), John Cranko’s Romeo and Juliet (Paris), Peter Wright’s The Sleeping Beauty (Companion of the Fairy of Vivacity and Pas de quatre), Rudolf Nureyev’s Swan Lake (Prince’s Friend and pas de cinq), Rudolf Nureyev’s Nutcracker (Pastorale), Kenneth MacMillan’s Manon (Young Gentleman), Jerome Robbins’ Glass Pieces (yellow couple), Jorma Elo’s A Midsummer Night’s Dream (Lysander), Michael Corder’s The Snow Queen (Kay), roles in Serge Lifar’s Suite en blanc, Rudi van Dantzig’s Four Last Songs, William Forsythe’s The Second Detail, John Neumeier’s Bach Suite IIIVaslawVerklungene Feste, and an excerpt from Spring and Fall, Nils Christe’s Before Nightfall, Jean-Christophe Maillot’s Vers un Pays Sage, Helen Pickett’s Eventide, David Dawson’s A Million Kisses to my Skin, Stephan Thoss' Blaubarts Geheimnis, Thierry Malandain’s Mozart à 2, Alexander Ekman’s Cacti, Jerome Robbins' The Four Seasons, Christopher Wheeldon’s The Nutcracker (Peter) and (The Great Impresario) and Fool's Paradise, as well as the solo from Rudolf Nureyev’s The Sleeping Beauty (Prince Florimund, Act II) and José Martinez’ Delibes Suite. He created a role in Eno Peci’s Herzblume, as well as Natalia Horecna’s Contra Clockwise Witness (Angel of Death).



Awards and honors: Most Promising Graduate Award from The Royal Ballet Upper School (2011); Nomination "Best Dancer" in the annual book 2012 of the journal Tanz; Promotion Prize: Ballettclub Wiener Staatsoper & Volksoper in 2013; Prize of the president of the jury and 1st place at the WienWeltWettbewerb 2014.